Who is hungry?

Last night –  I barely dreamt about anything at all…(we had Abby go in for a Spay yesterday and she was a wreck all night.)

Of course lately I have been barely sleeping at all anyhow – but last night just before I woke up I dreamt of bible verses – which everyone knows, we need to look up first thing in the morning.

The verses that I got were Jeremiah or Zachariah and there there was a 2 6 8 and 9

Not a long list by any stretch of the imagination – even for the sleep deprived. I picked through them looking for the unifying theme. Silly me – isn’t it always the same theme?

The picture I got was a line drawing of Ziggy the cartoon – but dressed as a Ziggy Rabbi saying Oi! if only we could celebrate sabbath like in ’60! Then it would be good!

(note: though he said 60’s it could have been the 1960’s or the 1460’s or the  2660’s (on the hebrew calender) or it could have just been a way of saying the old ways were better than now)

The cartoon showed he was walking through a maze and these were the list of bible verses he came to  before he could get “out” to the Sabbath rest. But then someone was saying you cant use those because they upset people.

yeah? Okay then. here we go…

Jeremiah 6:8-9  “How can you say, ‘We are wise,
and the law of the Lord is with us’?
But behold, the lying pen of the scribes
has made it into a lie.
The wise men shall be put to shame;
they shall be dismayed and taken;
behold, they have rejected the word of the Lord,
so what wisdom is in them? ”

ח  אֵיכָה תֹאמְרוּ חֲכָמִים אֲנַחְנוּ, וְתוֹרַת יְהוָה אִתָּנוּ; אָכֵן הִנֵּה לַשֶּׁקֶר עָשָׂה, עֵט שֶׁקֶר סֹפְרִים.

8 How do ye say: ‘We are wise, and the Law of the LORD is with us’? Lo, certainly in vain hath wrought the vain pen of the scribes.

ט  הֹבִשׁוּ חֲכָמִים, חַתּוּ וַיִּלָּכֵדוּ; הִנֵּה בִדְבַר-יְהוָה מָאָסוּ, וְחָכְמַת מֶה לָהֶם.

9 The wise men are ashamed, they are dismayed and taken; lo, they have rejected the word of the LORD; and what wisdom is in them?

Right off the bat – How do you know you have any wisdom at all when you have to believe people who are supposed to have wisdom and they are also duped? Hands down the most frustrating thing ever…

(Note: Isaiah died (~700 B.C.) about 50 years before Jeremiah was born.  Jeremiah (born ~ 655 B.C. was about 22 years old when Daniel was born (633 B.C.) and about 28 when Ezekiel was born -The letters changed from Paleo Hebrew (or proto-Hebrew) to square modern Chaldean flame letters during the exile – around 458 B.C.  about 20 years later in 440 B.C.  Ezra and Nehemiah formalized the Torah – the first five books in the new script. Did Jeremiah have a clue the letters would be changed? Therefore Isaiah and Jeremiah would have been writing in the older script. There also might have been some people left behind that remembered the older writing.
Moving on.

Then we have Zechariah 8: 16 These are the things that you shall do: Speak the truth to one another; render in your gates judgments that are true and make for peace; 17 do not devise evil in your hearts against one another, and love no false oath, for all these things I hate, declares the Lord.”

טז  אֵלֶּה הַדְּבָרִים, אֲשֶׁר תַּעֲשׂוּ:  דַּבְּרוּ אֱמֶת, אִישׁ אֶת-רֵעֵהוּ–אֱמֶת וּמִשְׁפַּט שָׁלוֹם, שִׁפְטוּ בְּשַׁעֲרֵיכֶם.

16 These are the things that ye shall do: Speak ye every man the truth with his neighbor; execute the judgment of truth and peace in your gates;

יז  וְאִישׁ אֶת-רָעַת רֵעֵהוּ, אַל-תַּחְשְׁבוּ בִּלְבַבְכֶם, וּשְׁבֻעַת שֶׁקֶר, אַל-תֶּאֱהָבוּ:  כִּי אֶת-כָּל-אֵלֶּה אֲשֶׁר שָׂנֵאתִי, נְאֻם-יְהוָה.  {ס}

17 and let none of you devise evil in your hearts against his neighbor; and love no false oath; for all these are things that I hate, saith the LORD.’ {S}

Of course it reminds me of one my very favorites:

Micah 6:8 “He has told you, O man, what is good; and what does the Lord require of you but to do justice, and to love kindness, and to walk humbly with your God?”

Jeremiah 2 7-9:

I brought you into a bountiful country, To eat its fruit and its goodness. But when you entered, you defiled My land And made My heritage an abomination.

The priests did not say, ‘Where is the LORD?’ And those who handle the law did not know Me; The rulers also transgressed against Me; The prophets prophesied by Baal, And walked after things that do not profit. “Therefore I will yet bring charges against you,” says the LORD, “And against your children’s children I will bring charges.

But look at the other translation:

ז  וָאָבִיא אֶתְכֶם אֶל-אֶרֶץ הַכַּרְמֶל, לֶאֱכֹל פִּרְיָהּ וְטוּבָהּ; וַתָּבֹאוּ וַתְּטַמְּאוּ אֶת-אַרְצִי, וְנַחֲלָתִי שַׂמְתֶּם לְתוֹעֵבָה.

7 And I brought you into a land of fruitful fields, to eat the fruit thereof and the good thereof; but when ye entered, ye defiled My land, and made My heritage an abomination.

ח  הַכֹּהֲנִים, לֹא אָמְרוּ אַיֵּה יְהוָה, וְתֹפְשֵׂי הַתּוֹרָה לֹא יְדָעוּנִי, וְהָרֹעִים פָּשְׁעוּ בִי; וְהַנְּבִאִים נִבְּאוּ בַבַּעַל, וְאַחֲרֵי לֹא-יוֹעִלוּ הָלָכוּ.

8 The priests said not: ‘Where is the LORD?’ And they that handle the law knew Me not, and the rulers transgressed against Me; the prophets also prophesied by Baal, and walked after things that do not profit.

ט  לָכֵן, עֹד אָרִיב אִתְּכֶם–נְאֻם-יְהוָה; וְאֶת-בְּנֵי בְנֵיכֶם, אָרִיב.

9 Wherefore I will yet plead with you, saith the LORD, and with your children’s children will I plead.

When you hear that someone is bringing charges against you it is an entirely different concept than if someone is pleading with you…

Jeremiah 6: 12-19

I will stretch out my hand
against the inhabitants of the land,”
declares the Lord.
13 “For from the least to the greatest of them,
everyone is greedy for unjust gain; and from prophet to priest,
everyone deals falsely.
14 They have healed the wound of my people lightly,
saying, ‘Peace, peace,’
when there is no peace.
15 Were they ashamed when they committed abomination?
No, they were not at all ashamed;
they did not know how to blush.
Therefore they shall fall among those who fall;
at the time that I punish them, they shall be overthrown,”
says the Lord.

16 Thus says the Lord:
“Stand by the roads, and look,
and ask for the ancient paths,
where the good way is; and walk in it,and find rest for your souls.

But they said, ‘We will not walk in it.’

17 I set watchmen over you, saying,
‘Pay attention to the sound of the trumpet!’
But they said, ‘We will not pay attention.’
18 Therefore hear, O nations,
and know, O congregation, what will happen to them.
19 Hear, O earth; behold, I am bringing disaster upon this people,
the fruit of their devices,
because they have not paid attention to my words;
and as for my law, they have rejected it.

The last part is Jeremiah12: 14 -17

Thus says the Lord concerning all my evil neighbors who touch the heritage that I have given my people Israel to inherit: “Behold, I will pluck them up from their land, and I will pluck up the house of Judah from among them.  And after I have plucked them up, I will again have compassion on them, and I will bring them again each to his heritage and each to his land.  And it shall come to pass, if they will diligently learn the ways of my people,to swear by my name, ‘As the Lord lives,’ even as they taught my people to swear by Baal, then they shall be built up in the midst of my people.  But if any nation will not listen, then I will utterly pluck it up and destroy it, declares the Lord.”

All’s ya gotta to do is learn the ways of his people.

so that is what I am ruminating on today folks. And napping.

2 thoughts on “Who is hungry?

Leave a Reply

