How many people can I offend in one post?

This was edited recently…

This week I heard two things about the KJV Bible – one in a blog about the KJV being the only one in the universe that is right…because people were willing to die for it…sheesh Muslims are willing to die for the Quran. If people are willing to die – does that mean there can be no error in their outlook?
And another saying it was the result of the Church of England wanting to keep their position of power. They even had a special team translating the Apocrypha – but we don’t see that in the KJV bible – why is that? That’s rhetorical actually..I am just frustrated and a little feisty.

I am actually having a tough time with the idea about what exactly defines the Bible. I believe the bible is not on the same level as scripture. Scripture is written by the finger of YHVH and/or delivered by His prophets. The NT is eye witness accounts and historical context  and correspondence of the early church.

Of course I want Truth – but truth without tradition…is hard to hang onto.
Sunday morning christians are obviously frustrating – so many things about them that crowds of people just adore and honestly – most of it just grates on my nerves… but on the other hand…The Messy Antics, what is with those guys? It always seems to  be chubby guys who are up on stage there pretending to be Rabbi’s with the kippah and the prayer shawl – ugh I find that equally distasteful. It is like they are being showoffs and copycats. Every time I see them I am thinking “Ohhh look at me I speak hebrew! I am so spiritual! I have a kippah and tassels” yeah?  so what? They are just pretty much faking being Jewish to impress people. Of course not all of them are like that – but it seems that if they have a toll free number associated with their teaching…tread with caution.

Now the traditions (candle lighting, headcovering, fasting, etc) I wasn’t raised with them so it seems like they are not anchored to my spirit. Every week it is the same Sabbath debate in my mind..what is work? should I do this or that? When I follow traditions of other people…it is hard to own it myself.

I recently explained it to a friend like this: It is like child care – did you know that many many years ago (Civil war era and earlier) people tried to feed babies flour mixed with water because it looked kind of like milk? Many babies died from drinking this home made formula. http://www.babybottle-museum.co.uk/pap.htm

It would be like me saying- formula today has soy and contaminants in it! we need to go back to the old ways! So I start feeding the babies flour and water – and the babies die because although the soy formula is undesirable – it is still better than water gravy. But if I went way WAY back; to feeding babies goat milk or long term nursing I would see babies thriving. right? Do you follow what I am saying?

So the soy advocates are like the modern church – good for everyone, convenient, hypo allergenic, FDA approved, just mix with water and serve. If this formula doesn’t agree with you – there are others you can switch to and get the same nutrients in a slightly different ratio. Everyone can just be fat and happy.

The hebrew roots people are kind of like those people who re-enact the Civil War. Pretending to be civil war nurses, acting like water and flour is okay for babies, speakin’ in a soft southern accent y’all – but when Monday comes they get out of their frocks and go back to their normal lives driving the minivan to pick up pizza for the cub scouts. Not all of them – but in general that is the impression they leave with me.

Wanting to go back to an understanding of how it was meant to be, BEFORE Yeshua came along to flip tables, and BEFORE the chosen people were allowed to be taken into captivity… there is just no bench mark for that. Every aspect of Jewish life was developed in Babylon/ Assyrian Captivity  and every aspect of Christianity seems to be tainted with Roman roots. And pretty much the church has gone out and assigned themselves to kill everyone else, and the muslims are god-ordained to kill the rest…so, there isn’t much to say about that.

I find many people saying – oh the bible says…xyz! and my response is always – Show me. Show me the page , the context, the reference and once we have all that under control we can talk about what a certain verse means…

Did you know that Billy Graham – arguable one of the most respected evangelists of all time is reported to have led over 3 million people to a saving knowledge of Jesus? But what good does that do if they are not in the will of the Father? Now a person might die as a baby Christian and just not get a chance to understand much more than a basic idea of what it means to Follow the one true YHVH. But when the Word says whoever relaxes one of the least of these commandments and teaches others to do the same will be called least in the kingdom of heaven, but whoever does them and teaches them will be called great in the kingdom of heaven. The whole sermon on the mount was about doing better than the religious elite of the day.

Are these 3 million+ people that Yeshua will have to explain the harsh truth to later? That they don’t know really know Him? And He doesn’t know them? Knowing about The Creator of the universe is not the same as knowing  Him. Here is another quote from Mr. Graham:

     I think that everybody that loves or knows Christ, whether they are conscious of it or not, they are members of the body of Christ… [God] is calling people out of the world for his name, whether they come from the Muslim world, or the Buddhist world or the non-believing world, they are members of the Body of Christ because they have been called by God. They may not know the name of Jesus but they know in their hearts that they need something they do not have, and they turn to the only light they have, and I think that they are saved and they are going to be with us in heaven.

Which of course is an idea that seems quite odd…as I do not see a whole bunch of people going to heaven – I see the kingdom of heaven being made manifest on earth as people gather on YHVH’s holy mountain.  When everything is restored to the original plan.

I am still some what lost – but at least I am not completely in ignorant bliss…
Just wanted to let you know where I am..

One thought on “How many people can I offend in one post?

  1. fiberaddict

    I’ve been thinking about the BiBle vs, Scripture myself, lately. Need to let it gel a bit more….but I’m leaning the same way you are. The NT letters were never meant to be elevated so high…..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

