One Day..

 

2 Peter 3:9 The Lord is not slow in keeping his promise, as some understand slowness. He is patient with you, not wanting anyone to perish, but everyone to come to repentance.

I have to give credit to Anna – I had been spending a lot of time in the OT the past few years trying to figure out all the things I should be doing, failing mostly, but nonetheless hoping to learn and grow more.  But these past few weeks I have been taking a look at the letters to the new believers and seeing how they would be applied to people of the first century, who through Messiah have joined with YHVH’s people. How they would feel being rejected, how they would try to persevere, how they would be taken advantage of, how the truth would be distorted to them and how they would try to overcome those things.  I also have to give credit to Karen and Eric Bissell for reminding me that the growing comes after a relationship has begun and not before.

So Thanks be to the Creator that I have one more day to learn, one more day to grow, one more day to do good and love those around me.

 First of all, you must understand that in the last days scoffers will come, scoffing and following their own evil desires. They will say, “Where is this ‘coming’ he promised? Ever since our fathers died, everything goes on as it has since the beginning of creation.”

Maybe time has run out – maybe we are out of time to do goodness and practice mercy – but maybe there is a bit of patience left for those who would come to repentance. We may have a day or two, or ten. But if we have 355 more days to get it right – I hope we can use them wisely. Every year we think – I wish I had been better about this area of my life, I wish I could have accomplished more, I wish I had been kinder, more diligent, better….One day WILL be that day – for everyone together, or for us as individuals. Besides that I am really hoping my recent health problems will not land me in a hospital for the holidays. That would be a bummer.

 

 

Leave a Reply

